6th Youth Parliament calls on Honourable Speaker National Assembly


Islamabad, October 27; Members of the 6th Youth Parliament Pakistan called on the Honourable Speaker of the National Assembly of Pakistan, Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, MNA, at the Parliament House today.

Welcoming the MYPs to the Parliament, the Honourable Speaker shared in details some of they reforms that have been instituted under his leadership in the National Assembly of Pakistan. From introducing cost-efficiency in the National Assembly to working on developing, alongside the HEC, the introduction of the subject of Parliamentary Studies in higher education institutes across Pakistan, the Honourable Speaker said that his target is to introduce an efficient corporate culture in the working of the Parliament.

The number of initiatives undertaken by the National Assembly under the elected leadership over the past one year or so include forming of 88 Friendship Groups in the National Assembly, introduction of the system of financial audit and bio-metric for employees, energy audit of the Parliament building and plans to make the Parliament Green, etc.

The Honourble Speaker emphasized that the National Assembly was in the process of creating a Legislative Council by inviting leading legal brains to assist the Assembly. He said that a much-needed system of token-machines was introduced in the National Assembly for submission of questions by members.

Congratulated by the Members of Youth Parliament Pakistan on Pakistan assuming the Presidency of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA), the Honourable Speaker shared that it will be for the first time since Pakistan became a member of the CPA in 1948 that Pakistan will host the next Annual CPA Conference in November 2015. Honourable Sardar Ayaz Sadiq invited members of the Youth Parliament to join the National Assembly in facilitating the Conference and in assisting the delegates of member countries in Pakistan.

Joined together by the Secretary of the National Assembly, Mr. Mohammad Riaz and Honourable MNAs, Ms. Marriyam Aurangzeb and Ms. Romina Khurshid Alam, the Honourable Sardar Ayaz Sadiq also answered questions of the MYPs in an interactive session. The Youth Prime Minister, Mr. Aqeel Ahmed Yousafzai (YP14-KP02), the acting Leader of the Opposition, Mr. Naveed ur Rehman Anwar (YP18-KP06), and the Honourable Youth Deputy Speaker Ms. Filza Marri (YP52-SINDH05) together presented a memento on behalf of Youth Parliament to the Honourable Speaker, National Assembly of Pakistan.
Earlier during the day, the Youth Parliament was addressed on the subject of required Electoral Reforms in Pakistan by Ms. Aasiya Riaz, Joint Director of PILDAT.
The 6th Youth Parliament Pakistan (2014) is supported by the Danish International Development Agency, Government of Denmark.
Supported by: Conceived and Managed by:
Share on

Copyright © 2007-2023 Youth Parliament Pakistan