6th Youth Parliament Pakistan (2014) Meets for its Inaugural Session
Islamabad, June 24; The inaugural session of 6th Youth Parliament Pakistan 2014, began this Monday and will continue over the course of five days until June 27, 2014.
Facilitated by PILDAT, the Youth Parliament Pakistan is patterned after the National Assembly of Pakistan. Its membership is drawn from young Pakistanis aged between 18-29 years from Balochistan, KP, Punjab, Sindh, Gilgit-Baltistan, AJK and FATA. 

Following an orientation for new members, the Youth Parliament session officially began with oath-taking of the members today. While Mr. Wazir Ahmed Jogazai, former Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly of Pakistan, has graciously agreed to chair the Youth Parliament Pakistan as its Speaker, election to the office of the Youth Deputy Speaker will be held during the first session. The agenda of first session also includes ascertainment of the Member who commands the confidence of the majority of the Members as Youth Prime Minister. The Opposition benches will also choose a Youth Leader of the Opposition. Standing Committees of the Youth Parliament Pakistan will also be elected during the first session, along with the Committee Chairperson, Vice Chairperson and Secretaries.

An Orientation session was held for Members of the 6th Youth Parliament in which they were briefed on their roles and responsibilities.Mr.Ahmed Bilal Mehboob, President PILDAT, shared with MYPs the key changes in the YPP model centred around strengthening the role of YPP Standing Committees. MYPs were shown a roadmap enunciating the rules and guidelines for the committee reports with explaining the nature of the committees with tentative deadlines for entire parliamentary year 2014.




The formal Inaugural Ceremony will be held on June 26. Federal Minister of Commerce, Engr. Khurram Dastgir Khan, MNA, will be the Chief Guest and H.E. Mr. Jesper Moller Sorensen, Danish Ambassador to Pakistan,will be the Guest of Honour.The Inaugural Session will also be addressed by Patron Youth Parliament, Mr. Faisal Karim Kundi, MNA, Former Deputy Speaker National Assembly, Senator S. M. Zafar, Chairperson and other members of Youth Parliament Steering Committee including Mr. Nadeem Afzal Gondal, Former Chairman Public Accounts Committee and Ms. Shaza Fatima Khawaja, MNA, General Secretary Young Parliamentarians Forum.

The Members of the 6th Youth Parliament Pakistan will select areas of focus during Standing Committee Meetings in the first session, on which they will develop policy reviews for the rest of the term.

PILDAT has earlier conceived, planned and facilitated 5, year-long, batches of Youth Parliament Pakistan in 2007, 2008, 2009-2010, 2012 and 2013, respectively.
The 6th batch is supported by the Danish International Development Agency, Government of Denmark.
Supported by: Conceived and Managed by:
Share on

Copyright © 2007-2023 Youth Parliament Pakistan